Tech
EN AZ
Apple says it’s tightening macOS ‘Full Disk Access’ controls due to new risks from AI agents

Apple says it’s tightening macOS ‘Full Disk Access’ controls due to new risks from AI agents

techcrunch.com 02.10.2026 20:11 4 views
Apple says it will add new controls around macOS’s Full Disk Access permission, warning that increasingly capable AI agents make broad access to users’ files, messages, mail, and browsing history riskier.

Days after a journalist claimed that Meta’s Muse app on Mac read their private messages — a claim that Meta disputed — Apple announced that it’s introducing additional controls around a setting called “Full Disk Access” on macOS. The feature was designed to allow backups to function properly, but AI agents have now increased “the risks associated with this level of access,” Apple said. Apple’s statement comes shortly after Inc. columnist Jason Aten reported that Muse knew the content of his private messages — even though he claimed to have not given the AI agent permission.

The report raised questions about the level of security and trust users have in desktop-based AI, which can control things on their systems and read their files and messages. The decision to limit the Mac feature also comes after a Wired report cited that a flaw in ChatGPT’s Mac app could have allowed hackers to access sensitive data. AI agents that run on the desktop allow users to provide their respective apps with greater access to the files, messages, and other personal content on their computers by adjusting macOS settings.

In Muse’s case, the AI optionally allows users to enable Full Disk Access. This setting, Apple explains, gives an app permission to access files, mail, messages, and even browsing history. The company says that, going forward, it will introduce new controls aimed at ensuring that users who “genuinely wish to grant an app this extraordinary level of access” can do so only with “very explicit user action.” “Addressing this is critical.

As AI agents become increasingly capable and autonomous, the risks associated with this level of access will grow substantially. We are committed to ensuring users clearly understand these risks before granting such access, so they can make informed decisions about their own data and privacy,” Apple wrote. Apple did not respond to TechCrunch’s inquiry about the feature change.

Extract — continue reading at the source.

Read full story